Burst Mode!

Burst Shutter Button Active on iPhone 5s

Burst Shutter Button Active on iPhone 5s

iPhone 5s brings us burst mode. Using it is simple - point the camera at your subject, and press and hold the shutter (take picture) button. Nothing to enable—it's ready to go out of the box. Your phone will take 10 pictures per second. You'll see the counter above the shutter button counting up rapidly. When would you want to use this feature? Every time you take a picture! Why would you want to use it? To reduce the chance of getting a bad photo, especially if you're taking a photo of kids, pets, etc. 

Burst Stacks in Camera Roll

Burst Stacks in Camera Roll

Ten photos per second probably sounds like a lot of photos to have to sort though, but Apple has made that easy (of course!). And it takes mere seconds to select the good ones and throw away the bad ones.

Burst Shot Info

Burst Shot Info

Once you've taken a burst of photos, flip over to your camera roll. Photos taken as a burst will be shown in a stack.  Tap on a stack of photos to open them up, and then look in the top left of the photo. You'll see the "Burst" tag and the total number of shots taken in that burst. You'll also see a "Favorites..." button at the bottom. Using this Favorites function, you can pull out the best shots from that burst and easily toss the rest. Apple uses algorithms to determine the best shots based on things like sharpness (less shake), open eyes, and smiles. 

Recommended Favorites

Recommended Favorites

Once you tap Favorites, you'll see a line of photo thumbnails across the bottom of the screen, and some will have dots. Those photos with dots are the ones the camera determined to be the best. Tap on the photo, and if you want to keep it, tap the circle in the bottom right of the large photo to get the blue and white checkmark. Check all the photos to keep, then tap Done in the top right corner.

Deleting Remaining Burst Shots

Deleting Remaining Burst Shots

Now for the magic - once you've selected the photos to keep, delete the burst stack. When you select the burst stack for deletion, you'll get a confirmation that only the throw aways will be trashed.

Check out the final shot below, unedited. I love beautiful Santa Barbara! 

The Final Shot, Unedited

The Final Shot, Unedited